Long Buckby AC 1st Bob Fricker Trophy Shoot

Long Buckby AC 1st Bob Fricker Trophy Shoot

To all archers that took part in the Bob Fricker Trophy shoot, Long Buckby Archery Club would like to thank you all, it was great to see you all brave what turned out to be a very Hot day!! And then the Thunder and lightning came you couldn’t write it if you tried.

Thank you to all that helped set up the shoot and those that helped through the day.

Again thank you from the club, And congratulations to Dean Edwards of Towcester Archers, who won the Bob Fricker Trophy with the highest scoring round with a recurve.


Martin Ross
Chair – Long Buckby Archery


This shoot is part of the 2022/23 NCAS Chris Mason Celebration League.

Session 1 photos courtesy of Dean Edwards & Mark Allison.

Towcester Archers First Club Session

Towcester Archers First Club Session

“After a lot of hard work and patience, we finally had our very first shooting session together as a club, on the morning of Sunday 2nd August 2020.

Literally just three weeks ago, we were very close to knocking the idea of a 2020 start on the head. Very little seemed to be going our way, with only a few months left of the outdoor season, and very little possibility of finding a suitable indoor venue during current restrictions, it was starting to seem pointless. A sensible pause and wait, until the ground works are finally complete next year, allowing us start the club properly at our permanent Towcestrians range.

Thankfully, an opportunity to use Dadford Road Campsite came along for us at just the right time. Despite the added complication of the spectatorless Grand Prix being held at Silverstone on the same first two weekends, and possible access restrictions, our first session took place.

The afternoon before was spent putting the target stands together, measuring out and marking the field with the distances and shooting lanes, in order to comply with current Archery GB guidance for shoot under social distancing.

A big thank you to all involved in getting us here, to the clubs who have donated their time and spare equipment, and to our new members for making this possible.”

Dean Edwards
Chair – Towcester Archers

Chris Mason Celebration League Points Update

Chris Mason Celebration League Points Update

Ahead of the 2019/20 Chris Mason Celebration League, which starts with this Sunday’s Kettering Archers Chris Mason Memorial Worcester Shoot, the points system has been revised slightly to award all archers for attending and shooting regardless of category. The additional points for placing 3rd, 2nd or 1st, will still only apply to those how have shot within category.

For clarity, shooting within category means that archers shoot the correct round and distance for their age-group and gender. A list of the outdoor rounds including age groups can be found here.

The points system is as follows:
– 3 points for attending, regardless of category
– 3 points for first, 2 points for second, 1 point for third (when 3 or more archers shooting in a bowstyle, within category)
– 2 points for first, 1 point for second (when only 2 archers are shooting in a bowstyle, within category)
– 1 point (when only 1 archer shooting in a bowstyle, within category)

The full rules for the league can be found here. Please contact the County Records Officer, Dean Edwards if you have any questions.

We’ve Won ArcheryGB Website of the Year!

We’ve Won ArcheryGB Website of the Year!

Our website has won the ‘ArcheryGB – County & Regional Website of the Year’ award!

County archer and webmaster Dean Edwards, built and maintains the current site.

“This is a fantastic achievement and Dean should be extremely pleased with the results of all his hard work and the recognition from Archery GB” Glenn Taylor County Chairman

Dean himself says about the website: “It’s great for the county to get this award. I think the site reflects the county well and hopefully it’s a useful tool for communication and information to Northants archers. As with all things digital, technology and web development moves on quite quickly. I’m hoping to develop the site further over the next few months and make it more mobile friendly and bring it right up to date with social media etc. Any ideas or suggestions for how we might improve the website are always welcome.”


56th EMAS Senior Inter-Counties Team Tournament 2014

56th EMAS Senior Inter-Counties Team Tournament 2014

On Sunday 7th September, the Northamptonshire team competed in the 56th EMAS Senior Inter-county Team Tournament, otherwise known as The Thoresby Shoot.

Individually our archers shot extremely well, with several personal best scores achieved on the day. Five of our seven gents recurve archers, finished in the top eight. Shahram Montasser of Kettering Archers won the gents recurve, John Inkley of Nene Bowmen came third, Ian Hannaford of Northampton AC was fourth, Jeremy Beesley of Branbury Cross Archers was fifth, and Dean Edwards of Duston Bowmen came eighth. Simon Stubbs of Branbury Cross Archers finished in 14th place, and Simon Wright of Wellingborough OAC came 17th. So all in the top half of the results.

James Mason of Northampton AC won the gents compound with a new county record score. Team Captain Martin Ross of Long Buckby AC finished in seventh.

In the ladies recurve, Christine Marshall of Wellingborough OAC came 15th scoring a new personal best. Jennifer Ives of Banbury Cross Archers also shot very well in 19th place. Anita Stubbs also of Banbury Cross Archers finished 22nd shooting barebow.

Our two Longbow archers, Russell Faulkner and John Marshall finished 7th and 10th respectively.

As we were unable to field full teams for most of the categories. we weren’t able to challenge for any of the team trophies this year, finishing 5th in all three categories. Derbyshire won both the recurve and the compound trophies, with Leicestershire & Rutland winning the Longbow trophy.

Full Results

This year, the shoot also acted as a selection shoot for the up coming EMAS Senior Team match against the West Midlands, to be held on 12th October at Lilleshall. NCAS members initially picked for the team are: Shahram Montasser, John Inkley, Ian Hannaford, Jeremy Beesley, Dean Edwards and James Mason. Congratulations to those archers.