NCAS Caswell Series 2024


The Caswell Series consists of 3 x Stage shoots and an invitational Finals shoot.

All the stage shoots will be 12 dozen rounds. Participants are welcome to shoot below age appropriate, but only those shooting in the correct age group will have their scores count towards to Caswell totals.

Entry fee’s for the stage shoots will be £15 per entry for the required 12 dozen rounds. The entry fee for single or afternoon rounds may be less. There will be no entry fee for The Finals.

The Finals Shoot will be a 6 dozen ranking round and head-to-heads (last 16 round onwards depending on the number of participants) to determine the NCAS Caswell Series Winners.


The Stages where possible will be held on the 4th Sunday of May, June and July and the rounds will be:

Stage 1 – Double WA720 / Metric122 / Metric80
Sunday 26th May 2023 hosted by Targetcraft Archers
Entry Form

Stage 2 – Cancelled

Stage 3 – York / Hereford / Bristol I-V
Sunday 28th July 2023 hosted by Towcester Archers
Entry Form


Standings (to be undated after Stage 1)

Invitations to participate in the Caswell Finals will be sent out following Stage 3.


The Finals – WA720 / Metric122 / Metric80 Ranking Rounds, followed by Head-To-Head matches to determine the winners of each division and Class.
Sunday 18th August 2024, host club TBC

In line with Archery GB age categories, the Age Classes for the Caswell Series will reflect will be 50+, 21+, Under 21, Under 18, Under 16, Under 15, Under 14 and Under 12. 50+ is by choice of the participant.

The Divisions for the Caswell Series will be Recurve, Compound, Barebow and Longbow. All bows must comply with the AGB Target Archery Rules of Shooting (Rule 303).

Only archers who affiliate to Northamptonshire County Archery Society will be eligible for entry into The NCAS Caswell Series Finals.


Points System
1st – 20 points
2nd – 18 points
3rd – 16 points
4th – 14 points
5th – 12 points
6th – 11 points
7th – 10 points
8th – 9 points
9th – 8 points
10th – 7 points
11th – 6 points
12th – 5 points
13th – 4 points
14th – 3 points
15th – 2 points
16th – 1 point


Previous Results
2023 NCAS Caswell Series Finals Results

2022 NCAS Caswell Series Overall Results

The history of the Caswell trophy series runs back to the 1950’s and 60’s. It was started by workers at the old Plessey Research Centre at Caswell near Greens Norton, who formed a thriving archery club at the company. The Caswell tournament began life as a single shoot and the trophy created for the original tournament in the style of an archery target boss, was fabricated in the Caswell engineering workshop. This is the same trophy which is still awarded to the overall highest recurve score for the Caswell Series.

Pat Comber of Wellingborough OAC, recalls shooting in the 1968 Caswell match… “…the Caswell Trophy Match on 5th May 1968 at Delapre Park was the first competition I entered. My score sheets from back then show that I shot 14 events that year, in Northants, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Leicestershire and Warwickshire. The last 3 of the year being the Intercounty Matches with Leicestershire, Warwickshire, and the tri-counties match with Bedfordshire & Buckinghamshire.”

“I remember that the format of the Caswell event was altered at an AGM, after the county team wanted to shoot more FITA`s as practice for the Inter-county matches which were all FITA. It was agreed to shoot two FITA and one York/Hereford. I think that fixed dates were agreed then, being 1st Sunday in May, 1st Sunday in July, and 1st Sunday in August. I am not sure of the year this happened. I don`t think it was between 1969 and 1972, as my score pad covers shoots most of the weeks through those summers. I know it was 3 matches in 1974 as WOAC hosted the 2nd Match on 7th July 1974.”